Within the IIHF (International Ice Hockey Federation), there are a couple rule differences regarding penalties and equipment between men’s hockey and women’s hockey. The inequality is annoying to have to address time after time. When will they realize that women are just as tough and can hold our own to men.

If you are over the age of 18 playing in an IIHF tournament as a man, you are allowed to wear a helmet without a cage. In women’s hockey, all women are required to wear a helmet with a full cage. Honestly, this is insane. What’s going to happen? Are they saying that women’s hockey is more intense than men’s hockey, so much that we need the full cage so that no one gets an eye ripped out? Unlikely. I believe this is a case of thinking women are weaker, which makes no sense to me, because if we’re weaker, shouldn’t we be allowed to wear the same helmets as men? Nothing would happen to us because we’re the “inferior species”. I’m not too mad, I’m just confused. I don’t understand why the IIHF thinks that we need a cage, but the men don’t. In my personal opinion, the men are a lot more violent than women and are more likely to fight, or get severely injured. The amount of cuts that a male player gets by receiving a high stick or even getting a SKATE TO THE FACE is insane. If you had a full cage, you would not experience all those cuts. So in a way I’m saying that you should let women wear whatever helmet they choose, or force everyone to wear a cage for the safety of your players.

In men’s international competition, they are allowed to body-check, although in women’s it is an automatic penalty. According to rule 224: d, if a woman makes a direct body-check, she shall be assessed, at the discretion of the referee, a: minor penalty (2’) or major penalty + automatic game misconduct (5’+GM). WE ARE NOT WEAKER. Seriously? I can’t even begin to explain to you how upset this particular rule makes me. Yes, all players have to wear a helmet yada yada yada, but a woman can’t body-check, and a man is allowed? That’s a whole other penalty added to the women’s rule book. Wouldn’t it be simpler to just have one rule book for the entirety of the IIHF? It would take less time to go through, and every ref would only have to know the one set of rules. It’s logic, my friends!

I’m clearly very distressed while addressing this topic. I am not happy with this. I believe, as I said in my last article, that women deserve to be treated like men are! Not even just in hockey, but in every sport ever. If you disagree, I’m sorry for wasting your time, but I can assure you most women playing hockey think the same thing as I do.